Bottom of a Deep Dark Ocean

 with George W Tyler

Nov 2011

Jesus said an astounding thing in John 6

Joh 6:48   I am that bread of life.
Joh 6:49   Your fathers did eat manna in the wilderness, and are dead.
Joh 6:50   This is the bread which cometh down from heaven, that a man may eat thereof, and not die.
Joh 6:51   I am the living bread which came down from heaven: if any man eat of this bread, he shall live for ever: and the bread that I will give is my flesh, which I will give for the life of the world.
Joh 6:52   The Jews therefore strove among themselves, saying, How can this man give us his flesh to eat?
Joh 6:53   Then Jesus said unto them, Verily, verily, I say unto you, Except ye eat the flesh of the Son of man, and drink his blood, ye have no life in you.
Joh 6:54   Whoso eateth my flesh, and drinketh my blood, hath eternal life; and I will raise him up at the last day.
Joh 6:55   For my flesh is meat indeed, and my blood is drink indeed.
Joh 6:56   He that eateth my flesh, and drinketh my blood, dwelleth in me, and I in him.
Joh 6:57   As the living Father hath sent me, and I live by the Father: so he that eateth me, even he shall live by me.
Joh 6:58   This is that bread which came down from heaven: not as your fathers did eat manna, and are dead: he that eateth of this bread shall live for ever.
Joh 6:59   These things said he in the synagogue, as he taught in Capernaum.
Joh 6:60   Many therefore of his disciples, when they had heard this, said, This is an hard saying1; who can hear it2?
Joh 6:61   When Jesus knew in himself that his disciples murmured at it, he said unto them, Doth this offend you?
Joh 6:62   What and if ye shall see the Son of man ascend up where he was before?
Joh 6:63   It is the spirit that quickeneth; the flesh profiteth nothing: the words that I speak unto you, they are spirit, and they are life3.
Joh 6:64   But there are some of you that believe not. For Jesus knew from the beginning who they were that believed not, and who should betray him.
Joh 6:65   And he said, Therefore said I unto you, that no man can come unto me, except it were given unto him of my Father.
Joh 6:66   From that time many of his disciples4 went back, and walked no more with him.
Joh 6:67   Then said Jesus unto the twelve, Will ye also go away?
Joh 6:68   Then Simon Peter answered him, Lord, to whom shall we go? thou hast the words of eternal life.
Joh 6:69   And we believe and are sure that thou art that Christ, the Son of the living God.
Joh 6:70   Jesus answered them, Have not I chosen you twelve, and one of you is a devil?
Joh 6:71   He spake of Judas Iscariot the son of Simon: for he it was that should betray him, being one of the twelve.

  1. hard saying — not merely harsh, but insufferable, impossible to accept.
  2. who can hear it — submit to listen to it and do it.
  3. the words that I speak… are spirit and… life — The whole meaning of these words is “spirit,” and not flesh… “Life” in its highest God type of Life form, not in its lowest mortal, physical, human form. These words can only be interpreted spiritually by those having the Holy Spirit.
  4. many of his disciples — many of his pretty constant followers, those who saw him as their “teacher,” or “leader.”

You don’t serve up on the table anything other than the Christ who is in you! When the bible calls Jesus the WORD, it is related to eating Jesus because He is the Word of God and we consume the Word.

When you eat or drink naturally what happens is that your body assimilates everything, (takes it in) good or bad, and then what is good gets used to grow your cells, blood etc, what is bad gets filtered out or sometimes you may vomit it out.

John 6:63 It is the spirit that quickeneth; the flesh profiteth nothing: the words that I speak unto you, they are spirit, and they are life.

So Jesus asks his close Disciples: “So are you also going to leave me?” And they reply (kind of sadly in a resigned way)… “No Lord… Here we are at the bottom of a deep dark ocean and you are the only one with the oxygen cylinder… where can we go apart from you and still have Life?” They would probably have loved to go as well, but they knew that they didn’t have another option! It also shows that they understood who Jesus was and what Jesus was saying, and the others who left didn’t, because they also said: “You have the WORDS of LIFE!”

It’s like the other story about “Is there anyone else up there?”

It’s the same thing… no one else is coming… there is no plan B… it is Christ or nothing… Life or death… simple choice really… a “no brainer”… but yet still… we engage the brain and make the wrong choice!… sad really!… and also explains why Jesus wept!… Wow at times like this it is all so clear!… so simple… so easy… yet still we seem to WANT to struggle… WANT to try to make it on our own… without him… without his life… so silly

Once you “engage the brain” you are already committed to making a choice, to judging, and either choice you make (good or evil is from the wrong tree and is done out of disobedience, out of rebellion against God himself. So it is judging good/evil isn’t it? And BOTH are wrong choices.

Rather it should be “Choose Christ… and LIVE!”… So simple.

A few other related thoughts:

  • Thou shalt not live by bread alone, but by every word that proceeds out the mouth of God.
  • Unless you eat my body and drink my blood, you shall have no part of me as the ‘bread’ that I serve is actually my Life… my body – presented as a living sacrifice
  • That time when Jesus said to Peter, “feed my sheep…” the implication was that he had ‘eaten’ Jesus, and now become part of Christ, and in turn, to feed HIMSELF (Peter) to the sheep.

Reference: http://www.e-sword.net/

AMEN!

 

